Daily Announcements

Cougar core image

Wednesday October 5, 2022  

Lunch Menu: Chicken Nuggets with Garlic Bread 

993-7245 = ALL DAY Absence Line / 993-7242 = Arriving Late or Leaving Early    

 Job Opportunities  

Health Office Request Form  

The following colleges are visiting this month! Student will need to see Mrs. Jones in the counseling office to sign up and receive a pass.  

October 17th, @ 9 to 10am (Monday) Johnson County Community College 

October 20th, @ 10 to 11 am (Thursday) US Army 

October 24th @ 9 to 10 am (Monday) Drake University (Des Moines, IA)  

Hey NW! StuCo would like to invite you to the Homecoming Dance, A Night at Gatsby’s, on Sat. Oct. 8 from 8-11 pm in the NW Cafeteria! Tickets are $15 and on sale during all three lunches this week! If you’re bringing an outside date, you must pick up a form in the office and return Wed.  Bring your student ID and formal attire. Hope to see you there! 

Seniors: Senior Career Exploration permission forms are due by October 10th (Monday). Please make sure you are taking advantage of the senior exploration options for Wednesday, October 12th. You received the permission form from your seminar teachers on Tuesday, and they are due back to either your seminar teacher, or you can drop them in the box in Student Services on Mrs. Jones desk. Parent signature is required for any activity you plan to complete off campus that day. This is a fantastic opportunity to visit a college, trade or vocational school or do a job shadow in your chosen field.  Extra forms can also be found with Mrs. Jones in the counseling office.  

BSU will be meeting Thursday October 6th @ 2:50 in room 130, come join us we will have snacks 

KCBizFest: Juniors and Seniors, do you want to own your own business? Then BizFest is for YOU.  Check out this document for more information. 

Hispanic Heritage Month: Please enjoy music from the Band during Hispanic Heritage Month. They will be playing Hispanic themed music on Thursday Late Starts from 8:20 - 8:40  

Vending Machines in the faculty lounge and custodian office are ALWAYS OFF LIMITS TO STUDENTS. 

Parking Passes –ARE AVAILABLE! Please pick up registration cards and permits from the security office on the west side of the building BEFORE SCHOOL or DURING LUNCH ONLY.  Beginning October 3rd, any students in the West lot without a parking permit displayed may be ticketed    

Student Parking –Students can only park in the WEST / STUDENT parking lot or street parking.  Any students parking in the Staff / East parking lot may be ticketed. Students are only to enter and exit through the East or West Main Doors during the school day. Do not open outside doors to let others in unless directed by a staff member.   

Lost and Found – The lost and found box is in the main office. If you find something, please place it in the large box in the office and if you have lost something be sure to check there also.    

Vending – Refunds for stuck or not properly dispensed food/drink will ONLY be given before or after school or during your lunchtime. No refunds will be given during passing period or class time. If you use a CARD or APPLE PAY on a vending machine and it does not properly dispense your selection, we will NOT reimburse for those purchases.   

“When you give joy to other people, you get more joy in return. You should give a good thought to happiness that you can give out.”— Eleanor Roosevelt 

 

NW Administrators

 

 

NW Counseling Staff

Zach Cash zacharycash@smsd.org Families with last name A-E

Barb Legate barbaralegate@smsd.org Families with last name F-K

Katie Cole katherinecole@smsd.org  Families with last name L - Rn

Jessica Andrade jessicaandrade@smsd.org Families with last name Ro - S 

Jordan Landis jordanlandis@smsd.org Families with last name T - Z

College Adviser - Connor Davis connordavis@smsd.org

RWL - Erica Jablonski ericajablonski@smsd.org

Lisa Jones, counseling secretary 913.993.7230 lisajones@smsd.org

NW Social Counselors

Tina Clark tinaclark@smsd.org Families with last name A- L

Melissa Osborn melissaosborn@smsd.org Families with last name M - Z

School Psychologist - Jodee Moore jodeemoore@smsd.org